nadcost

NAD+ IV vs injections: compare the full cost

Compare NAD+ IV and injection offers on both the complete bill and the milligrams stated for that purchase. Cost per milligram is a price measure. It cannot show that two routes produce the same effects, absorption or clinical value.

Make two comparisons instead of forcing one ranking

The first comparison is financial: what will each option charge, and what amount of NAD+ is attached to that charge? The second is clinical: is the proposed route appropriate for you, and what outcome is reasonably supported? A low unit price can answer the first question and leave the second unresolved.

Our cost-per-milligram board only divides an admitted price by a stated quantity. It does not measure the amount reaching a particular tissue. A milligram in an infusion bag and a milligram in a home-delivery vial are purchasing quantities, not a claim of interchangeable treatment.

If a clinic proposes a different dose or schedule from an at-home provider, do not adjust your treatment to make the prices match. Ask each prescriber to explain the proposal, then compare the expected cost of the actual plans. The useful comparison is between offers you could genuinely receive.

Put the complete bill beside the stated amount

For an IV quote, ask about the infusion, clinician assessment, facility or administration charges, testing and any optional add-ons. For a home-delivery quote, ask about the consultation, preparation, supplies, delivery and follow-up. These are questions to ask, not a claim that every seller charges every fee.

Request the total milligrams in the purchased unit. If the offer is a package of visits, ask how much each visit contains and whether all visits are included in the quoted total. If it is a vial, distinguish concentration from total content. The vial guide explains why milligrams per milliliter alone are not enough.

Keep qualifiers beside the price: introductory offer, prepaid package, membership rate or standing charge. A first-visit promotion should not become the continuing IV cost. A monthly injection subscription should not be compared with a single session as though the two describe the same period.

What to put beside each route quote
Comparison itemIV offerHome injection offer
Purchased unitVisit or visit packageVial, shipment or subscription
QuantityStated mg per included visitStated total mg per included vial
Additional chargesAssessment, administration, testing if separateConsultation, supplies, delivery if separate
TimeProvider’s visit estimate plus travelTraining, handling and prescribed schedule
Clinical valueAsk the clinicianAsk the clinician

Account for time without inventing a medical equivalence

A clinic visit involves more than the infusion itself. Record travel, check-in, the scheduled appointment and any observation the clinic requires. At-home treatment involves receiving and storing the preparation and following the prescriber's instructions. Ask how training and support are provided before assuming home care takes no time.

The 2019 Grant pilot followed NAD+ and its metabolites during a six-hour infusion. That is a particular study protocol, not the duration of every commercial appointment. It also does not establish what appointment length or dose is appropriate for you. Read the original study[1].

For budgeting, use the actual time estimate from the provider you are considering. A useful comparison can show a purchase total and a separate time commitment without converting either into an invented dollar value. If time away from work or caregiving matters, add your own cost separately and label the assumption.

Use a common period only when the plan supports it

If both clinicians describe a continuing plan over the same period, compare the quoted total for that period. If one proposes a single visit and the other a recurring prescription, show them separately until there is a meaningful shared period. Avoid multiplying a first visit into an annual protocol no clinician has recommended.

A calendar month and four weeks differ. A prepaid package also creates a different cash commitment from a monthly payment. Record what is due today, how often another charge occurs and whether unused visits expire. The monthly price guide keeps those billing distinctions visible.

For home-delivery vials, the purchased amount may exceed what can be used under the actual instructions before discard. Ask the pharmacist about that before choosing a larger order. A low price for more content is not a saving when the additional content cannot be used. Our vial waste guide describes the budgeting question without changing a prescribed schedule.

A cheaper route still needs a suitable care arrangement

Ask who prescribes, who dispenses and who answers a clinical concern. For a clinic, ask who supervises treatment and how the practice handles a reaction. For home care, ask how to contact the prescribing team and dispensing pharmacy. Price transparency is useful, but it is not a substitute for those answers.

FDA has warned about unsuitable food-grade NAD+ ingredients used to make sterile products and reports of reactions consistent with endotoxin exposure. That warning is a reason to ask about the preparation and pharmacy; it does not establish that every seller or every route has the same problem. Read FDA's notice[2].

Decide in order: clarify clinical suitability, verify the care arrangement, then compare the complete financial offers. If one quote does not state enough to divide, leave the unit cost blank and ask for the missing information. An explicit unknown is more useful than a number built from an assumed vial size or schedule.

Compare two quotes without filling in the blanks

Consider a fictional clinic quote of $400 for one visit stating 250 mg, with assessment and administration included. Consider a fictional home-delivery quote of $180 for 600 mg, with a separate $40 initial consultation and $20 delivery charge. These are invented examples, not current provider prices or recommended doses.

For the stated purchases, the clinic total is $400 and the first home order total is $240. Dividing by the stated content gives $1.60 per milligram for the clinic purchase and $0.40 for the first home order. The home product's medication-only price is $0.30 per milligram, but that figure leaves the stated required charges out of the first purchase.

Those divisions do not establish that 600 mg at home is an alternative to the clinic's proposed 250 mg visit. The preparations, routes, schedules and care arrangements differ. The example compares money and purchased content while leaving the clinical comparison to the prescribers.

If the clinic quote had not stated its milligrams, the appropriate unit-cost entry would be unknown. If the home quote had not stated whether delivery was included, its complete price would be unresolved. The arithmetic should become more precise only when the missing information is supplied; precision should not come from quietly choosing a convenient assumption.

Separate a one-time decision from continuing care

A single clinic appointment and a continuing at-home plan answer different purchasing questions. Ask what happens after the first treatment and whether additional care is proposed. If a provider cannot yet say because the plan depends on assessment or response, record that limitation instead of projecting an annual treatment calendar.

For a package of visits, ask about expiration, booking availability and what happens if the clinician changes the recommendation. A lower package price per visit is only a useful saving if the package fits the clinical plan and you can use the included visits under its terms. Avoid treating an unused appointment as a benefit simply because it appears in the denominator.

For a subscription, ask whether shipment quantity changes after the initial assessment, whether the initial price continues and whether there is a new consultation charge at renewal. An advertised entry price can describe a different purchase from the one ultimately prescribed. Compare the actual offer received after assessment with the original advertisement.

The most useful result may be a table with separate first-purchase and continuing-cost rows, rather than one winner. Show the route and stated quantity on each row so the context stays attached to the money. If one plan remains uncertain, keep the unresolved fields visible until the provider supplies an answer.

Examples from provider price records

For an example of the purchase units, Garcia Weight Loss listed $250.00 per infusion, with 250 mg, in September 2026. Its review separates single infusions, visit packages and intramuscular offers so a package total is not mistaken for one visit.

Sprout Health listed a subcutaneous offer at $249 “/mo after,” alongside “1000 mg (5 mL vial),” in September 2026. That monthly figure and vial description do not by themselves establish how many vials the month buys. Read the offer's quantity limitations before treating it as a unit-cost comparison with an IV visit. These are historical records, not confirmation of today's offers or equivalent treatment.

Does lower cost per mg mean better treatment?

No. It measures the purchase price per stated milligram, not absorption, outcomes or suitability.

Should I choose a bigger dose to get a lower unit cost?

No. Do not change a dose for price reasons. Ask the prescriber about the appropriate plan and compare quotes for that plan.

Sources and scope

Published by nadcost. The sources below support the specific statements linked in this guide. This is consumer research, not an individual medical, insurance or tax determination. Examples identified as fictional are illustrations, not provider offers. A guide revision does not refresh the dates on historical provider prices.

Sources

  1. Grant et al., 2019: six-hour IV metabolism pilot
  2. FDA: ingredients suitable for sterile compounding